19 June 2020

First Taylor street names announced

| My Gungahlin
Start the conversation

The names of the first 21 streets in the new Gungahlin suburb of Taylor recognise the contribution of architects, town planners and urban designers to Australian society.

Click here for a full list of the new Taylor street names and information on the people they commemorate.

Canberra is famous as a planned city and the influence of architects, town planners and urban designers has had a tremendous impact on how Canberrans live their lives. With the sale of the first 126 blocks in this new suburb by ballot in March, the naming of these first 21 roads means prospective buyers will know the names of the streets they will be potentially living on.

The names selected by the ACT Place Names Committee reflect outstanding contributions locally and across the nation of people who have had a positive impact on our country.

From nationally and internationally recognised pioneers in their fields, like Australia’s pioneer female landscape architect Millie Grassick and world-renowned architect Robin Boyd, to those with a more immediate local contribution like former ACT Government planner Tim Morath, who was instrumental in sustainable transport planning in the territory, the naming of these roads shines a light on their contributions to the shaping of Australia.

Several town planners who helped shape Canberra in its formative years have also been recognised, including Grenfell Rudduck, who advised on housing and regional planning for the Department of Post-War Construction in Canberra in the 1940s and later became the associate commissioner of the new National Capital Development Commission (NCDC) in 1958.

Other early NCDC planners who helped shape the growth of Canberra have also been honoured, including Oskars Pumpurs, who was involved in the establishment of Belconnen, Woden, Weston Creek and Tuggeranong, and Trevor Gibson, who as the first town planner appointed since Walter Burley Griffin prepared the designs for Dickson, Lyneham, Red Hill and Campbell.

The creative minds behind some of Canberra’s most recognisable features are also commemorated, like Theo Bischoff, a Canberra architect and landscape painter who was the project architect on the John Curtin School of Medical Research at the ANU, and architect and urban designer Bob Woodward, who was responsible for The Canberra Times Fountain in City Walk as well as fountains at the High Court of Australia and in the forecourt of Parliament House.

The street names also recognise local architects like Heather Sutherland, who in 1936 married fellow architect Malcolm Moir and worked as a design architect in their Canberra partnership, Moir & Sutherland, which specialised in housing and small commercial work.

The contributions of the people commemorated by these new street names is as varied as it is significant and I thank the ACT Place Names Committee for recognising the positive impact they have had on the development of our great city and nation. Registrations for the ballot draw for the first 126 single residential blocks in Taylor open on 10 February and close on 20 February.

For more information on Taylor land sales visit www.mygungahlin.com.au/posts/taylor-blocks-made-available-by-ballot.

An information day day will be held in February, for more information please see www.mygungahlin.com.au/event/taylor-information-expo

Start the conversation

Weekly Wrap

Do you want to keep up with what’s happening in Gungahlin? Every week we package up the best stories in a free newsletter, delivered straight to your inbox. Sign up now and find out what everyone else is talking about.

By submitting your email address you are agreeing to Region Group's terms and conditions and privacy policy.